photo of graduates

Printable guidelines in PDF


Applicants to the E. H. Kilbourne Scholarship Program must:

  • Be residents of Allen County, IN, for a continuous period of one year prior to April 1 of the year of their selection as scholarship recipients,
  • Be high school seniors attending Allen County high schools or their equivalent in Allen County,
  • Plan to enroll in full-time study at an accredited two-year or four-year college or university or a vocational/technical school for the entire upcoming academic year,
  • Provide verification that they are affiliated with or are a member of a church or religious organization,
  • Provide verification that they are ranked in the top 50% of their graduating class, and
  • Be US citizens.


Number of awards and the range of amounts will be determined annually by the Sponsor. The number of awards will be allocated among the various Allen County high schools based on the number of enrolled high school seniors at each school. Provided there are qualified applicants, each school will receive at least one award. Awards may be renewed for up to three additional years or until a bachelor's degree is earned, whichever occurs first. Renewal is contingent upon satisfactory academic performance in a full-time course of study.

Awards are for undergraduate study only.


Interested students must submit their completed application to their high school guidance counselor no later than January 31, 2014 or earlier as established by the high school.

Applicants are responsible for gathering and submitting all necessary information. Instructions for completing the Financial Data section of the application are included. Applications are evaluated on the information supplied; therefore, answer all questions as completely as possible. Incomplete applications will not be evaluated. All information received is considered confidential and is reviewed by the high school guidance counselors; the school scholarship committee; Wells Fargo Bank, Trustee; and Scholarship Management Services.

Selection of Recipients

Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, goals and aspirations essay, unusual personal or family circumstances, an applicant appraisal, and financial need. Once scholarship recipients are selected, financial data is reviewed to determine the amount of each award.

Selection of recipients is made in part by the high school guidance counselors, the high school scholarship selection committees, the sponsor and Scholarship Management Services. All applicants agree to accept the decision as final.

Applicants will be notified in early May. Not all applicants to the program will be selected as recipients.

Payment of Scholarships

Scholarship Management Services processes scholarship payments on behalf of the sponsor. Payments are made in one installment on August 1. Checks are mailed to the institutions for the students. Letters are mailed to the students informing them about payment to the institutions.

Obligations for Renewing Scholarships

Recipients are required to notify Scholarship Management Services of any changes in address, school enrollment, or other relevant information and to send a complete transcript and yearly financial information when requested.


The E. H. Kilbourne Trust administered by Wells Fargo Bank, Trustee, Fort Wayne, IN, reserves the right to review the conditions and procedures of this scholarship program and to make changes at any time including termination of the program.


Application Deadline: See your Guidance Counselor

Top of page.